There you go, child…

Rains in the desert!! Yup! You heard it right! Just before the dawn of summer, every year U.A.E experiences mighty winds and showers over a period of two months or more. The clouds love to make a dark and royal appearance, especially over the weekends with rolls of thunder and lightning. One such weekend was the last one. I was rushing home to Sharjah from a relative’s place in Dubai, caught in rains and traffic. I was rushing because I was going to be late for church that evening.

I did anticipate that I may not have time to step inside my house and change for the mass and thus packed an appropriate attire to switch into once I was at church. I picked up my husband from work and gave him the wheel so that he’d have a fair chance to fight the traffic (or so was my convincing pitch). Our church is just a few kilometers away from my place but being stuck in that traffic made it seem far beyond the equator! Soon after we reached church (yes, we made it just on time) I dug inside my tote for my white duppata. Dogs would have had much better luck finding their buried bone than me having an escapade in my bag. After much digging, I realized I forgot my head covering.

Just a little FYI – I go to a Syrian Mar Thoma Church ( this one being a malayalee community, to be precise). Women and girls over the age of 14-15 cover their heads during the mass, as a symbol of reverence and respect in our worship to the Lord. It is often preferred to wear an attire that has a head covering as part of it, such as Sarees or salwars. You may also wear anything else besides these with an additional head covering as long as it’s appropriate and not distracting to the worship. This particular evening I was wearing a pink kurti with white leggings and well, supposedly a white dupatta but it was tucked away in my closet at home.

I felt very uncomfortable at first to enter church without it but then decided to go ahead telling myself that, “God knows and sees all. I’ll just worship Him with all my heart and soul. ”

But that comforting thought lasted for just a few minutes, as I was aware of not having my dupatta and reprimanded myself for my forgetfulness. As the priest ascended onto the podium, I made up my mind to pay attention to the sermon. I was adamant that I would not let Satan take away my focus from the worship because of a piece of cloth. I began to pray more and soon found myself being at peace until it was time for communion. As the congregation began approaching the altar, I sat down feeling low that I couldn’t partake in the communion. I wondered if I could borrow someone’s dupatta for a few minutes until and after I received the Holy communion. I looked around to see if there were any. And trust me, there were plenty, but then the fashionista in me took over! I began searching for the right colour of a dupatta. I found red, blue, green and black but no white.

A while later my eyes gave up screening the dupattas in the room. I thought this was silly and decided to just borrow any color. But even then, I felt uneasy and decided not to take communion. Soon Pramod got up next to me to go attend communion, and I felt even more isolated. I tried to sing along to the songs that were being played but stopped after a few lines. Another song got over and as many were getting back to their seats, I turned behind and there I saw a young lady playing with her toddler and, a beautiful white dupatta adorned her head. Without a second thought, I walked quickly towards her and asked if I could borrow her dupatta. She ever so kindly lend me hers, and I paced myself to the front of the church.

Coming back to my seat, I felt so overwhelmed. Overwhelmed because of how God provided for such a silly want of mine. Overwhelmed because of how He favoured to get me exactly what I wanted-a white dupatta. Overwhelmed because He was so mindful of my thoughts.

He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?
-Romans 8:32 NIV

Many often it is easy to be buried under a pile of doubts, worries, difficulties and troubles of this life. Trust me, you’re not alone. I am someone who has a lot of hope over the difficulties of this world, but there are times when the human in me kicks in with fears and questions.

No matter what it is that you’re going through today, remember that God is completely aware of it. Nothing is a surprise to Him. He has charted His plan for the entirety of your life on this earth.

You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you.
The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.
-Psalm 139:16 MSG

There is always an answer to your prayers. It can be either yes, no or to wait. It can be a YES, as easily and quickly as the next hour. Or it can be a NO. Stop trying to open a window that has been closed to you, and look out for the door God has opened for you. Or it can be TO WAIT. During this wait, it can be frustrating to remain positive and hopeful all the time. But it is through such times, that some of the greatest lessons of life and faith are taught to you by God.

The Israelites could have reached the promised land in a matter of days but God decided to take them through a route that took 40 years. And it was in those years that they saw the mighty and powerful works of God and His glory. God did not abandon his children but rather stayed closer than ever to them.

By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night.
-Exodus 13:21

Here are 10 truths to remember everyday:
In-Your-War-Room-Free-Printable-PDF . Write or print them out and keep them some place in our house that you spend most your time at, or your work place, study room, bible, or even make it your wallpaper on your phone(now that’s an obvious place, isn’t it? :D) You choose!

There are so many instances in the bible that remind us how God has been so powerful and miraculous, in working things out for His children. God knows every single need and desire of yours -from a matching white dupatta to healing a terminal disease in your loved one.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[e]?
“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.
– Mathew 6:25-33

So while you and I receive an answer to our prayers, let’s cozy up in the comfort of His love and Grace. Let us focus on God and in serving Him. Let’s choose not to complain but always be filled with thanksgiving. There is always someone in need of hope, a smile or an encouraging word. Choose to be the one that delivers this joy through the love of Christ.

Be His fragile lily rooted strongly in the soil of Heavenly Grace.

Leave a Reply

