As the clock strikes 12

2016 is here !!

Did yáll stick to your new year resolutions this time? Who are we kiddin’ right? Oh well, like they say there’s always next year!
A few days after Christmas, it struck me that 2015 was going to end soon. Yes, I know after 29 comes 30 and 31…the numbers have to keep going but cmon !!! It’s almost 365 days !! And like every year, “this year has gone by so quickly”.

What exactly are your thought right now? Are you relieved this year is over? Are you thankful for the past couple of months? Are you apprehensive about the new year?

Well, in this post I’d like to share something that God taught me this morning (31st Dec) as I was wondering about the new year.

But before that, join me in counting the blessings God has showered upon you and me this past one year. I praise God for being so wonderful, gracious, loving and above all patient with all of us. He has remained faithful as always to His word.

PicMonkey Collage 4

PicMonkey Collage 2

PicMonkey Collage 3

I thank God for blessing me with a wonderful and most suitable life partner. I thank Him for the extended family- ever-loving in-laws, wonderful siblings, and precious nephews. I thank God for our first apartment- a beautiful, perfect and far beyond imaginable one. I thank God and pray that He continues to bless all those who enter our humble abode.

Now blogging is something that I do as a hobby and sometimes to kill some extra time. Like many in the UAE, I’ve launched myself into the job market and the hunt has begun.  You keep hearing (more from the husband, than the news, for me) about how the job markets are now down, many are being let go, it’s a miracle if you can keep your existing job. But I try my best not to focus on these and see the big picture or rather what the Big man has in store.

But then, yesterday was one of those days where I just couldn’t hold onto positivity anymore. It was like I wasn’t even trying anymore to fight the negatives thoughts. The doubts and fears and worries just flooded in. I sat down to pray, but couldn’t do that either.

Another fact that you should know about me is- unless I figure or rather sort things in my head emotionally, I can’t confide in anyone else. If I did speak to someone about it face-to-face, I would only cry. And NO THIS BIG GIRL DON’T CRY !! Neither do I let anyone see me. I know- very annoying habit. So even Pramod asked me if I was alright, and I said I was FINEEE and looked away.

I woke up today morning, to get ready to go out- was thinking I’ll head out to Dubai. Woke up, prepared breakfast and lunch, sent Pramod off to work and got ready. Before I left home I said down for a while and opened the laptop to check new job openings. I opened my Gmail and found the Daily Bread daily devotion.

In their mail, you have an audio option as well. So this time, I decided to listen to the devotion instead of reading it.  The verse of the day was:

“So, don’t be afraid, you are worth more than many sparrows”- Mathew 10:31.

I’m sure many of us have come across this passage hundreds of times. But today this verse spoke to me more than a repetitive phrase. Lets looks at that verse again and a couple of them above it.

Verse 29 goes like this:

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care”.  

*goosebumps*

Now back in those days when these birds were sold in the market, two of them were given for a penny. A penny was worth so much back then, so this was a huge bargain for the people.  But this was also a business strategy for the bird merchants.

You know…! *sense the tone*

They would pair a good healthy bird with a worn out, old fowl. So people would easily buy at this bargain and the merchants could easily sell them all- good and bad.

So now do you get it? God even cares for that lonely, unwanted, tired, poor soul. A sparrow which is barely the size of your palm is precious to God.

Aren’t you and I more precious than mere birds? And still He cares about every sparrow that touches the ground.

Let’s compare this to today’s world:

The clever bird merchant is the world around us. Playing its ways and methods on us- with its market conditions, disasters of the evil world and the  governing of different countries.

We are, clearly, the birds- some tired and exhausted with the world, others happy with the way life has played out for them. Some feel like they have nothing to be hopeful for, or feel life has always been unfair for them. Others satisfied with how things have been easy for them as long as the world kept offering what it had in store.

The buyers are our jobs, responsibilities, and other priorities. As long as they are kept satisfied and fulfilled, your life will remain easy, right?

BUT STOP BEING DISMAYED. STOP LETTING THE WORLD CONTROL YOU!!

I’m not saying don’t follow the rules of your country, or lash out against your bosses. Submit to them, because they are in place for a reason. But make sure you submit to an even higher authority- Your God and Heavenly Father. The King of Kings and the Lord of Lords. The One who has supremacy and authority over EVERYTHING- That’s right- even the corporate world. Pray for your co-workers. Thank God for His security over your life and job position.

Like the Psalmist said,  A thousand may fall at your side,
    ten thousand at your right hand,
    but it will not come near you. (91:7)
no harm will overtake you,
    no disaster will come near your tent.(91:10)

Whatever you may be faced with this year – Don’t be afraid, don’t worry. Our God has complete control. He rules it all. So instead, let’s praise Him for the future blessings. The more praises you give Him, the less room there will be for your doubts and fears.

 “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God”.- Phil 4:4-6

So there! I wish you all a wonderful, prosperous and happy new year ahead. May God bless all the desires of your heart. Promise yourselves that you won’t let the world and its evil exhaust your peace and hope. Rejoice for He gives you not His second best but His best.

Why, didn’t He give you Jesus, himself?

HAPPY 2016 !!

God bless all.

Leave a Reply

